Dame Bradley books by Gladys Mitchell – a checklist

with dates of first publication:

(more on Gladys Mitchell)

Published by Gollancz, London:
Speedy Death, (1929)
The Mystery of a Butcher’s Shop, (1929)
The Longer Bodies, (1930)
The Saltmarsh Murders, (1932)

Published by Grayson, London:
Death at the Opera, (1934); published in the US as Death in the Wet (Philadelphia: Macrae Smith Company, 1934)
The Devil at Saxon Wall, (London: Grayson, 1935)

Published by Michael Joseph, London:
Dead Men’s Morris, (1936)
Come Away Death, (1937)
St Peter’s Finger, (1938)
Printer’s Error, (1939)
Brazen Tongue, (1940)
Hangman’s Curfew, (1941)
When Last I Died, (1941)
Laurels Are Poison, (1942)
The Worsted Viper, (1943)
Sunset Over Soho, (1943)
My Father Sleeps, (1944)
The Rising of the Moon, (1945)
Here Comes a Chopper, (1946)
Death and the Maiden, (1947)
The Dancing Druids, (1948)
Tom Brown’s Body, (1949)
Groaning Spinney, (1950)
The Devil’s Elbow, (1951)
The Echoing Strangers, (1952)
Merlin’s Furlong, (1953)
Faintley Speaking, (1954)
Watson’s Choice, (1955)
Twelve Horses and the Hangman’s Noose, (1956)
The Twenty-third Man, (1957)
Spotted Hemlock, (1958)
The Man Who Grew Tomatoes, (1959)
Say It With Flowers, (1960)
The Nodding Canaries, (1961)
My Bones Will Keep, (1962)
Adders on the Heath, (1963)
Death of a Delft Blue, (1964)
Pageant of Murder, (1965)
The Croaking Raven, (1966)
Skeleton Island, (1967)
Three Quick and Five Dead, (1968)
Dance to Your Daddy, (1969)
Gory Dew, (1970)
Lament for Leto, (1971)
A Hearse on May-Day, (1972)
The Murder of Busy Lizzie, (1973)
A Javelin for Jonah, (1974)
Winking at the Brim, (1974)
Convent on Styx, (1975)
Late, Late in the Evening, (1976)
Noonday and Night, (1977)
Fault in the Structure, (1977)
Wraiths and Changelings, (1978)
Mingled with Venom, (1978)
Nest of Vipers, (1979)
The Mudflats of the Dead, (1979)
Uncoffin’d Clay, (1980)
The Whispering Knights, (1980)
The Death-Cap Dancers, (1981)
Lovers, Make Moan, (1981)
Here Lies Gloria Mundy, (1982)
The Death of a Burrowing Mole, (1982)
The Greenstone Griffins, (1983)
Cold, Lone and Still, (1983)
No Winding-Sheet, (1984)
The Crozier Pharaohs, (1984)