Search

Criteria:
  • Keyword = pakistan
Page:1Modify search
Showing 1 to 12 of 12
  • AMERICAN DERVISH. by Akhtar, Ayad.
    Akhtar, Ayad.
    AMERICAN DERVISH.

    Edition: First printing.

    New York & Boston: Little Brown, (2012) dj. Hardcover first edition - A coming-of-age novel by this Pulitzer prize winning playwright, set in the American Midwest, which focuses on the forces affecting young Muslims growing up in the US. 352 pp. ISBN: 978-0316183314.

    Condition: Very near fine in a like dustjacket.

    Book ID: 64713
    View cart More details Price: $18.00
  • BRICK LANE. by Ali, Monica.
    Ali, Monica.
    BRICK LANE.

    Edition: Trade paperback.

    New York: Scribner, (2003). First novel by this young writer who was born in Bangladesh, but grew up in England, the story of two sisters, one living in London, the other still in Bangladesh.. Short-listed for the Booker Prize. 415 pp. ISBN: 0-38560484X.

    Condition: Very good (small address sticker inside front cover)

    Book ID: 73624
    View cart More details Price: $10.00
  • BRICK LANE. by Ali, Monica.
    Ali, Monica.
    BRICK LANE.

    Edition: First printing.

    London: Doubleday, (2003) dj. SIGNED hardcover first edition - First novel by this young writer who was born in Bangladesh, but grew up in England, the story of two sisters, one living in London, the other still in Bangladesh. SIGNED on the title page. Short-listed for the Booker Prize. ISBN: 0-38560484X.

    Condition: Fine in fine dust jacket (appears unread.)

    Book ID: 70462
    View cart More details Price: $45.00
  • THE COUNTRY AT MY SHOULDER. by Alvi, Moniza.
    Alvi, Moniza.
    THE COUNTRY AT MY SHOULDER.

    Edition: First printing, a trade paperback, not issued in hardcover.

    Oxford & New York: Oxford University Press, 1993. First edition - First collection by this poet who was born in Pakistan, lives in England. At the heart of this collection is a series of poems called "Presents from Pakistan" which explore the importance of the 'country at their shoulder' a homeland left behind, or a birthplace never seen again. .A title in the Oxford Poets Series. 56 pp. ISBN: 0-19-2831259.

    Condition: Fine in glossary illustrated wrappers.

    Book ID: 45665
    View cart More details Price: $20.00
  • MOGHUL BUFFET. by Benard, Cheryl.
    Benard, Cheryl.
    MOGHUL BUFFET.

    Edition: First printing.

    New York: Farrar, Straus & Giroux, (1998) dj. Hardcover first edition - The author's first novel, "set in Peshawar, a border town in Pakistan, a murder mystery about a missing American businessman which offers a glimpse at the situation of women in the Muslim world, from Afghan refugees to maverick women politicians." 264 pp. ISBN: 0-374211795.

    Condition: Fine in fine dust jacket.

    Book ID: 74116
    View cart More details Price: $20.00
  • THE LAST OF THE BENGAL LANCERS. by Ingall, Francis.
    Ingall, Francis.
    THE LAST OF THE BENGAL LANCERS.

    Edition: First edition.

    Novato, CA: Presidio Press, (1988) dj. SIGNED hardcover first edition - Autobiography of Brigadier F.H.B. Ingall, D.S.O., O.B.E., one of the last of the famed 6th Duke of Connaught's Own Lancers. This memoir provides a look at the last days of the Raj, fighting on the Italian front, and the end of the Empire. SIGNED on the front endpaper. Photographs, index. xiii, 157 pp. ISBN: 0-891412034.

    Condition: Very near fine in a very good dustjacket (address sticker, price-clipped).

    Book ID: 74048
    View cart More details Price: $25.00
  • THE ENDS OF THE EARTH: A Journey at the Dawn of the Twenty-first Century. by Kaplan, Robert D.
    Kaplan, Robert D.
    THE ENDS OF THE EARTH: A Journey at the Dawn of the Twenty-first Century.

    Edition: First printing.

    New York: Random House, (1996) dj. Hardcover first edition - In the tradition of Freya Stark and Rebecca West, this is an account of the author's travels "from the countries of West Africa and the fundamentalist enclaves of Egypt and Iran to the culturally explosive lands of Central Asia, India, Pakistan, and Southeast Asia with hardly more than a notebook and a backpack. The result is an intimate portrait of the devastated parts of the world whose cultural disasters - like those in Rwanda, Bosnia, and Chechnya - will dominate our attention and remake the world of tomorrow." Events in the 20 years since this book was first published only underscore the importance of understanding these regions and the…

    (more)

    New York: Random House, (1996) dj. Hardcover first edition - In the tradition of Freya Stark and Rebecca West, this is an account of the author's travels "from the countries of West Africa and the fundamentalist enclaves of Egypt and Iran to the culturally explosive lands of Central Asia, India, Pakistan, and Southeast Asia with hardly more than a notebook and a backpack. The result is an intimate portrait of the devastated parts of the world whose cultural disasters - like those in Rwanda, Bosnia, and Chechnya - will dominate our attention and remake the world of tomorrow." Events in the 20 years since this book was first published only underscore the importance of understanding these regions and the hopes and fears of those who live in them. Maps, bibliography, index. xiv, 476 pp. Map endpapers. ISBN: 0-679431489.

    (less)

    Condition: Fine in fine dust jacket.

    Book ID: 67147
    View cart More details Price: $20.00
  • THE STORY OF SWAT As Told by the Founder Miangul Abdul Wadud Badshah Sahib to Muhammud Asif Khan. by Khan, Muhammad Asif.
    Khan, Muhammad Asif.
    THE STORY OF SWAT As Told by the Founder Miangul Abdul Wadud Badshah Sahib to Muhammud Asif Khan.

    Edition: Hardcover.

    Peshawar, Pakistan: Ferozsons Ltd, (1963) dj. Hardcover - In 1849, the Yousafzai established their own Yusafzai State of Swat under the leadership of Akhund Abdul Ghaffur, but this book focuses on the transformation of the state under Miangul Golshahzada Abdul-Wadud, founder of the dynasty of Swat. Swat was uncommon in that its government was not imposed on the area by an imperial power or individual, but was established by the Jirga in 1915, who appointed Abul-Wadud as leader in 1917. The British recognised this ruler and the state as a princely state in India in 1926. Following the independence of Pakistan in 1947, the ruler acceded the state to Pakistan, although it retained considerable autonomy for many years. Abdul…

    (more)

    Peshawar, Pakistan: Ferozsons Ltd, (1963) dj. Hardcover - In 1849, the Yousafzai established their own Yusafzai State of Swat under the leadership of Akhund Abdul Ghaffur, but this book focuses on the transformation of the state under Miangul Golshahzada Abdul-Wadud, founder of the dynasty of Swat. Swat was uncommon in that its government was not imposed on the area by an imperial power or individual, but was established by the Jirga in 1915, who appointed Abul-Wadud as leader in 1917. The British recognised this ruler and the state as a princely state in India in 1926. Following the independence of Pakistan in 1947, the ruler acceded the state to Pakistan, although it retained considerable autonomy for many years. Abdul Wadud abdicated in 1949, and his son succeeded him as ruler, continuing his developmental works, but also becoming more autocratic. Although not mentioned in this book, it was written when both opposition to the leader and persecution and imprisonment of opponents were increasing, a movement which finally resulted in the dissolution of the state by the government of Pakistan in 1969. Translated from the Urdu by Ashruf Altaf Husain. Illustrated with photographs. Includes a translator's note, a long introduction and several appendices. lxix, 143, xxvii pp.

    (less)

    Condition: Very good in blue cloth with gilt lettering to spine and decoration on front board, in a good only dust jacket with significant rubbing and edgewear.

    Book ID: 69930
    View cart More details Price: $45.00
  • Naipaul, V. S.
    BEYOND BELIEF: Islamic Excursions Among the Converted People.

    Edition: First printing.

    New York: Random House, (1998) dj. Hardcover first edition - A follow-up to his book "Among the Believers" - a look at how the conversion to an Arabic religiion has affected the peoples of Iran, Pakistan, Indonesia (the largest Muslim population in the world), and Malyasia. Naipaul's accounts of the Islamic world were specifically cited in the announcement that he had won the Nobel Prize for literature in 2001. Whether you agree with this or not, it is an important book. 408 pp. ISBN: 0-375501185.

    Condition: Near fine in near fine dust jacket (light crease on spine of dj)

    Book ID: 74740
    View cart More details Price: $24.00
  • AN UNRESTORED WOMAN. by Rao, Shobha.
    Rao, Shobha.
    AN UNRESTORED WOMAN.

    Edition: Advance Reading Copy (trade paperback format. )

    New York: Flatiron Books, (2016). SIGNED first edition - The author's first book, a collection of twelve paired stories, which are rooted in the 1947 partition between India and Pakistan, a time when nearly a million immigrants were killed, and tens of thousands of women were abducted and brutalized. SIGNED on the title page and dated in the year of publication. Author's note. Glossary. 242 pp.

    Condition: Fine in illustrated black wrappers.

    Book ID: 67316
    View cart More details Price: $30.00
  • AN AFGHANISTAN PICTURE SHOW, or How I Saved the World. by Vollmann, William
    Vollmann, William
    AN AFGHANISTAN PICTURE SHOW, or How I Saved the World.

    Edition: First printing.

    New York: Farrar, Straus & Giroux, (1992) dj. SIGNED hardcover first edition - His first non-fiction book, an account not only of events in Afghanistan in 1982, but also of his coming to terms with himself and his limitations. SIGNED on the title page by the author. Illustrated with drawings and maps by the author. While Vollmann, one of the most fascinating and interesting of modern writers, had long been a cult favorite, in 2005 he received the prestigious National Book Award for fiction. 268 pp. ISBN: 0-374-101051.

    Condition: Very near fine in a like dustjacket (appears unread)

    Book ID: 58591
    View cart More details Price: $45.00
  • AN AFGHANISTAN PICTURE SHOW, or How I Saved the World. by Vollmann, William
    Vollmann, William
    AN AFGHANISTAN PICTURE SHOW, or How I Saved the World.

    Edition: First printing.

    New York: Farrar, Straus & Giroux, (1992) dj. SIGNED hardcover first edition - His first non-fiction book, an account not only of events in Afghanistan in 1982, but also of his coming to terms with himself and his limitations. INSCRIBED on the title page ("to..."). Illustrated with drawings and maps by the author. While Vollmann, one of the most fascinating and interesting of modern writers, had long been a cult favorite, in 2005 he received the prestigious National Book Award for fiction. 268 pp. ISBN: 0-374-101051.

    Condition: Very near fine in a like dustjacket (appears unread)

    Book ID: 58592
    View cart More details Price: $50.00